Irene's Secret Tips, Products, and Interviews Geared Towards Showing Adolescent Girls How to Thrive and Excel in Our Cultural Times!

Fat Phobia

Posted on: June 1, 2010

                             
               Fat phobia is a topic that is near and dear to my
               heart, and as I look around me today, I notice that,
               sadly, girls everywhere are struggling with weight
               issues.  In fact, obesity is on the arise right at
               such an alarming rate among teenage girls, that one
               wonders what the culprits really are.
              
               I know with myself, my struggle with weight
               started at home with my Mom. Ever since I was really
               young, my Mom used to make comments about my
               hind quarters and my chunky legs. And this really
               hurt my feelings.
              
               At about eighteen years old, I already was on ten
               different diets, and lost a lot of weight and regained
               it back several times. I was struggling with my
               weight yet my school nurse told me that my weight 
               was NORMAL. So, go figure. Who really had the 
              problem  in this equation?
              
               It is not my style to put mothers down. But I do
               think that sometimes mothers pass things onto their
               daughters that are their issues. With my own Mom,
               for instance, she had a fixation and an obsession
               about her weight. She weighed herself most days.
               And yes, she was trimish body and was never more
               than ten or fifteen pounds overweight. However,
               sadly, she instilled all of these obsessions in me.
               And she wanted me to be SLIM. But I was NORMAL
               weight.  So, didn’t that mean that I WAS slim?
              
               Over the next few weeks, I will be reflecting on this
               topic because I think that Mom’s can instill a kind
               of fat phobia in their daughters. And this can remain
               with them for the rest of their lives. I know with
               myself, it caused anorexia and bulimia at age 18 and
               then a constant struggle with my weight for the rest
               of my life, despite the fact that I was never more than
               15 pounds overweight, according to the medical
               charts.
              
               If you struggle with weight, perhaps it is time to
               look at the culprit for this problem in another place
               from society.
              
               ~ Irene

2 Responses to "Fat Phobia"

Hello from Montana:

Great comments. I am a family relationship author and find that many girls are hesitant to tell their mothers they have been stalked or bullied. They fear their mother will make it worse for them

Good Luck with your blog. Looking forward to connecting.

Judy H Wright aka Auntie Artichoke
http://www.ArtichokePress.com

Hi Judy,

Hello! Yes you are right. Girls are very hesitant to talk about how they feel about themselves. And it is SO important that they do.

I am so grateful that you visited. Please visit again.

Irene

Leave a Reply

Irene Roth

Irene S. Roth, Freelance Writer for Teens, Tweens, and Kids

Download This FREE E-book!

12 Tips 001
June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Categories

Stats Counter

stats for wordpress
