Irene's Secret Tips, Products, and Interviews Geared Towards Showing Adolescent Girls How to Thrive and Excel in Our Cultural Times!

WISDOM WEDNESDAYS

Posted on: September 29, 2010

              MOTHER-DAUGHTER RELATIONS
             
              What if Counselling Doesn’t help?
                            
              
              There are times that mothers are so stubborn
              and close-minded that even counselling won’t
              help. What can you do then?
             
              Well, if your mom won’t be helped through
              counselling, I would suggest that you keep
              going to your counsellor and keep talking to
              her. It is important for you to have an outlet-
              A way of talking to someone about how you feel,
              in a secure and nonthreatening environment.
             
              That is a mistake that I made. I didn’t go to
              counselling. We did go for a few counselling
              sessions with my mom, but nothing changed.
              So, I quit too. And I didn’t have anyone to talk
              to whatsoever. Over time, that became a real
              hindrance to how I felt about myself and how I
              was able to cope.
             
              What I needed badly was a compassionate
              and objective third person to talk to openly
              about how I felt. I had no support whatsoever.
              i couldn’t have very many friends, since I
              couldn’t go out to parties or. So sooner rather
              than later, all of my friends moved on, and so
              did I.
             
              So, I urge all of you to keep going to
              counselling, even if your mom won’t have
              anything to do with it. It will make a huge
              difference in your life. And you will have the
              support that you need to cope with the
              separation of your mother.
             
              ~ Irene

Leave a Reply

Irene Roth

Irene S. Roth, Freelance Writer for Teens, Tweens, and Kids

Download This FREE E-book!

12 Tips 001
September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Categories

Stats Counter

stats for wordpress
