Irene's Secret Tips, Products, and Interviews Geared Towards Showing Adolescent Girls How to Thrive and Excel in Our Cultural Times!

Be Kind To Someone Who Isn’t Expecting It

Posted on: January 24, 2011

Many times, we love to complement our peers and
do nice things for them because they expect it. But
what if you did something nice for someone just
because it was a nice thing to do and for no reward?

Many times when I don’t feel good about myself
on a particular day or I feel particularly down, I do
something nice for someone that I either don’t know
or someone who isn’t expecting it.

For instance, one day my Mom wasn’t feeling
particularly well. In fact, she looked awful and tired.
She always did the washing on Saturdays and I
always worked in the afternoons. I thought maybe I
could make her feel better by helping her with the
washing.

So, after breakfast, I asked her if I could do the
laundry for her and some of the ironing. She was
ecstatic. You never helped me with the laundry
before, Mom beamed. But I so appreciate it today
especially because I’m not feeling well.

I felt so good afterwards. And it did volumes for
my self-esteem too. I just felt so good about myself
and about what I did to help my Mom. Yes, I was
tired by the time I came home from work. But I was
so glad to have helped her.

~Irene Roth

Leave a Reply

Irene Roth

Irene S. Roth, Freelance Writer for Teens, Tweens, and Kids

Download This FREE E-book!

12 Tips 001
January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Categories

Stats Counter

stats for wordpress
